Everything will be alright in the end …

“Everything will be alright in the end and if it is not alright, it is not the end” ~ Sonny –  The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel for the Elderly and Beautiful

I greatly admire writers who are able to take ordinary people and their ordinary lives and conjure up, out of all that ordinariness, a captivating, gentle, refreshing and unforgettable story that brings to life all of ones senses, makes one laugh (lots and out loud) and cry and sigh and recharges the soul.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (for the Elderly and Beautiful) is the best film I have seen in a very, very long time. The characters, played by some phenomenal actors, individually and collectively, have such a rich story to tell and probably the message that one can take away from it all is that it is never too late to make amends, to learn to live and to let go and say goodbye.

I also recently watched Wrath of the Titans. The fact that I had to check that I had the title right already tells you that is somewhat more forgettable than TBEMH(FTEAB) but it was good fun. I have to admit that I am a sucker for that larger than life, good vs. evil action stuff. The half Greek God’s Australian accent was very confusing but other than that, it was ok.

Finally there was The Hunger Games. I’d been dying to see it since I first saw the preview and it probably wasn’t all that I was hoping it would be and I can’t quite put my finger on what was lacking. I think it was a little too long. I like that the story was original and I thought Jennifer Lawrence was really good and of course, we can always rely on Woody Harrelson for a good laugh. It was pretty good. I’d like to read the book.

13 thoughts on “Everything will be alright in the end …

  1. thank YOU for visiting my blog! and YES—I love that line from Sonny and the movie made me laugh, cry, reflect on my own life, gave me HOPE and YES, I want to see it again!

  2. I haven’t heard of the first movie (but I live overseas 10 months of the year) but I will have to look for it while home this summer. I am reading Hunger Games now and it is OK. I hear some people can’t put it down, but I haven’t reached that part or status yet ;)
    Thanks for the visit over at CTB :D

      1. But it is a must read right now… also downloaded Game of Thrones to read, haven’t started that one yet. Living abroad sometimes it is just nice to have something in English when it is SO hard to get! :)

  3. “Everything will be alright in the end and if it is not alright, it is not the end”

    I believe in this since childhood.. m glad that i stopped by here.. rejuvenating experience indeed.. :)

  4. I remember that I liked The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel for the Elderly and Beautiful very much, but now I think it may be time to see it again, thanks to your review. :)

I'd really love hear what you think

