Thank you for surviving

The cat has taken over the couch and is watching a show about leopards on the National Geographic channel and I have been exiled to a cold, hard and unfriendly dining room chair. But that is not what this blog is about. It is about a special person that made me smile today and I felt the need to acknowledge.

When I get into the office in the mornings, my friends and I gather in the exec kitchen to get a ‘real’ coffee and have a quick catch up on the goings on in each others lives.  The kitchen is always immaculate, the Nespresso machine full of water, milk in the hot milk frothy thingy, clean cups in the cupboard, sugar in the bowl etc.  All we do is pop in a pod, press a button and wait for the magic to happen.

While we are nattering away about all sorts of weird and wonderful things – some bums on counters, others leaning lazily against the wall or fridge, Joanna slips quietly between us, gathering empty cups and trying to put clean dishes away, refill machines – sometimes even repair them.

By the time I get back to my desk there is a fresh jug of water and clean glass ready to welcome me to the working day, put there by Joanna while I was chatting with my friends.  It is not her job to do that.  She does it because she is thoughtful and kind.

Joanna – June 2012

Keep in mind that this is a woman who gets up at 4am in order to get transport to work.  Sometimes she doesn’t get home until after 6pm.  Like so many other woman in her position, Joanna supports an extended family, ensuring that they are cared for and trying to get them the best education she can afford.  Jo always has a smile on her face, cracks a joke here and there and asks after members of the team who, for whatever reason, are not at work on any particular day.  She never takes off sick and when she does take leave we are messaging her to say how hard life is in her absence.

This morning, I concluded my long tale of woe to Joanna about how sick I was on Tuesday by saying “… but anyway Jo, I survived.”

Now if I was Joanna I would have replied with something like “that’s nice for you, now get out my kitchen so I can get on with my job”.

Not Jo, she smiled and said “thank you for surviving”.  And she really meant it.

I love Joanna.  She’s one of the most awesome people in the world and my life is so much nicer because she’s in it.

I'd really love hear what you think

