Happiness looks like yesterday

If you had to ask me what happiness looks like wrapped up in a single a day, I’d tell you it looks like yesterday.

First stop, Neigbourgoods Market, Braamfontein. The Weather Channel app says it is 5 degrees Celsius. Taking into account the wind chill factor it is well below zero. I tell the girls a story about how I haven’t felt this cold since I was 21 (in 1989), when my sister and I took a cruise on the River Thames on an open deck boat in the middle of December. I get a response that includes the word grandma. Cheeky buggers.

Image
Entrance to Neighbourgoods Market, Braamfontein, Johannesburg on a freezing cold winter’s day – 9 June 2012

The market was buzzing. Vendors chatting amongst themselves and inviting visitors to sample their goods. Cheeses, chocolates, hot soups, waffles, cupcakes, wine, beer, smoothies, hot coffee and even ice cold margaritas for a freezing cold day. People cuddled up closely at tables, feasting on all the delicious delights and hands clasped around hot drinks.  It’s hard to imagine you’re in a parking lot on the roof of a building in Braamfontein.

Image
The chocolate lady (www.fineandraw.co.za) at the Neighbourgoods Market, Braamfontein, Johannesburg – 9 June 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next we head to Origins Centre at Wits University. So I ‘m not going to pretend that I am into all that old bones stuff but there is so much you can learn there and I particularly enjoyed the section on the life of the ancient San. The museum is truly world class. Well worth the visit and at an affordable R60.

Image
At the entrance to the Origins Centre, Wits University, Johannesburg, South Africa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From Wits we went to Soweto. While I was there a few weeks ago I took a few photos of the security guards at the new Soweto Theatre. Since I had no other way of getting the prints to them, my friends agreed to to go back with me to deliver the pics.  On the way there we swung by the Orlando Towers for a quick look and a few photos.

Image
Orlando Towers, Soweto – 9 June 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then a quick visit to the theatre. The girls had a look around and I took a few more photos before we hit the road again.

As we drove home the sun was setting on a very cold but awesome and memorable day spent with special friends, drinking in the sights and sounds of a magical city, and filled with laughter and lots and lots of happiness.

3 thoughts on “Happiness looks like yesterday

  1. I read your review of the Marigold Hotel…and then “Happiness Looks Like Yesterday”—both wonderful and it is GOOD to meet you through WordPress! Hope to hear from you again! Love the photos! I lived in Kenya, EA, for about 3 years, Now I reside in Wisconsin, USA.

I'd really love hear what you think

