If I knew then what I know now

Dear (14 year old) me,

I’m you in 30 years time. I know how weird that must sound. It wasn’t my idea to write this letter, you know. It was some silly daily prompt on a website where I blog.  I’m not even going to begin to try to explain to you what blog means,  or what a website is.

I’m not really sure what the purpose of writing to you is. I guess the general idea would be to give you some good advice but knowing you like I do, you probaby wouldn’t take any notice of it anyway.

Time has just flown by since I was you and I’m glad to say that I have learnt a lot over the past 30 years.  I had to go through a whole lot of stuff to learn it.  Most of it you wouldn’t even believe if I told you. I’ve done some pretty crazy and stupid things. Some stuff I’m not really proud of and some that I’d be pleased to put down on my resume of life. Maybe one day I’ll write it all down for you in more detail, but that certainly won’t be an open letter.

I’d like to give you a map, plot a different course for you so that you could avoid the mistakes and the hurts but I’m scared that if I did, you might just miss out on some amazing stuff, so I’d be careful not to change too much.

I’m tempted to tell you about all the incredible stuff that’s going to happen in the next 3 decades, on a personal and global level, but that would rob you of the wonderment and excitement of discovering it as it happens, and I won’t take that away from you. I know you’re also dying to know if you’re going to marry Mr You-Know-Who.  Well, you’re just going to have to wait and see.

What I will tell you is that life is short, we should not take family and friends for granted, integrity helps you sleep well at night and GOD is only a prayer away.

See you later kid, enjoy the ride.

You

9 thoughts on “If I knew then what I know now

  1. I liked best, that you chose not to give her a map… and let her make her own way in life. I wish you continued success, and a lot of good adventures along the way.

I'd really love hear what you think

