Best of 2012

2012 has been quite a year.  I commented on one of my favourite blogs today that, in many respects, I felt like I was swimming against the tide for most of the year, but it was also filled with lots of fun, unforgettable experiences.  Here is my best of 2012 list.

Event of the year – My sister Linda’s visit from Australia. We laughed lots, cried, explored and discovered wonderful places in Gauteng.

Big wheel at Gold Reef City
Big wheel at Gold Reef City

Day out – Gold Reef City theme park (followed closely by a trip to Neighbourgoods and Soweto on the coldest day of the year)

Movie – Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Audio book – A Storm of Swords (third book in the Game of Thrones series by George R R Martin)

Book – Endings and Beginnings by Redi Tlhabi (watch his space for a review soon)

TV series – Downton Abbey

Eat out experienceDie Ou Pastorie

Social event – friend’s Mexican party

Buy – Samsung Galaxy Tablet

App – Navigation tool on Google maps (gets me where I need to go every time). And of course Skype so that I can catch up with my sister in the UK regularly.

New software – Windows 8 Pro (took some getting used to but now I’m loving it)

New experience – WordPress and discovering a world of incredible bloggers

New friends – including Savannah (the cat I inherited from friends who moved to Australia earlier this year).

Old friends – who are there, for better or worse, year after year after year.

Savannah
Savannah

That’s about all my 2012 tired brain can think of right now.

I considered briefly reviewing some of my worsts but I don’t really think it matters all that much. The worsts made me stronger and, hopefully, a little wiser.  That’s all that counts.

I just like the idea that, from time to time, I can come back to this post and remember 2012.

What were some of your favourite things in 2012?

14 thoughts on “Best of 2012

    1. It was. My ‘worst’ list came nowhere near what younwent through this year and if they did, I would also blog about them because, as you say, it helps to put them behind us. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

  1. Enjoyed your list Jacquie. I’m sure those events have been real gifts in your life. It’s good to reflect on what is past and enter the new year with those learnings and inspiration. I can certainly connect with a few of them – Downton Abbey, Windows 8 Pro, WordPress, and then most of all Savannah – what a magnificent cat.Have a good year and thanks for your mention. I’ve also enjoyed your blog.

    1. Thank you Don! Now that I am a (little) older, I find that I do just that. I would let Savannah know what you said about her but I’m afraid if I do, she will think she is entitled to the entire bed and not just half of it 🙂

      1. I just ordered Downton 2 from the library. Will do a marathon and be able to watch Season 3 in real-time with the rest of the US! Something to make winter bearable. — And yes… Mtuseni should definitely do more posts. That’s one of my goals for him this year — one of many.

  2. I just love lists like this. What fun. I’m so glad we’ve found each other here on WordPress. I also like Downton Abbey, Skype, and I got a new kitty this year when my college-age daughter brought Oliver home. Savannah is a looker! Happy New Year, Jacquie!!

    1. Hey Lori. Likewise and thank you! I always thoroughly enjoy your beautiful poetry. I am often quite amazed at how take everyday life and turn it jnto lovely verse. Happy New year to you too, as well as the family and Oliver.

  3. Nice recap of your year. I am glad you are my friend and I have certainly enjoyed all your posts in 2012. Looking forward to all the new posts in 2013. Hugs

  4. That is an amazing year. So much blessings, so much friendship. Skype is one amazing way to get in touch with family and friends across the globe. Wishing you and your family a wonderful new year.

I'd really love hear what you think

